Staff and Management Committee


eva-neitzert Eva Neitzert has a long-standing interest in feminist economics, social justice and gender equality. She was previously Deputy CEO at the Fawcett Society and Head of the Business, Finance and Economics Programme at the New Economics Foundation (nef). Eva holds a PhD from the London School of Economics and is also a Trustee of Rosa, the UK-wide fund for Women and Girls.


Mary-Ann Stephenson has worked for women’s equality and human rights for over twenty years as a campaigner, researcher and trainer. She was previously Director of the Fawcett Society and a Commissioner on the Women’s National Commission. She is a founder member of Coventry Women’s Voices and a board member at Coventry Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre. She has a PhD in Law from the University of Warwick.

Management Committee


pam-cole Pam Cole is the Current Chair of the WBG. Pam has been an active member of the Women’s Budget Group for over 12 years, serving on the management committee, participating in the policy sub-group and contributing to analysis and responses on public sector and employment issues. Following an earlier career in public libraries, Pam worked for 14 years in research, policy and equality officer roles for a public sector trade union. In this role she worked closely with the TUC, the EHRC and other organisations in developing policy and good practice guidance on a wide range of gender equality issues, including equal pay, flexible working, family rights, health and well-being.

Co-Chair for Policy

jerome-de-henau Dr Jerome De Henau is Senior Lecturer in Economics at the Open University. He joined the Women’s Budget Group in 2010 and its management committee in 2013. His areas of expertise include quantitative analysis of between and within-household gender inequalities in income and employment and the impact of work-family and tax-benefit policies across European countries.

Co-Chair for Strategy and Fundraising

ruth-pearson Prof Ruth Pearson is Emeritus Professor of Development Studies at Leeds University. Her research focus has been on gender and work in the global economy.

Co-Chairs for Communication

rebecca-omonira-oyekanmi Rebecca Omonira-Oyekanmi is a reporter and writer living in London. Rebecca’s freelance work has been published by the Guardian, the New Statesman, the Washington Post, the New Internationalist, the Independent and others. She is currently writer in residence at Lacuna magazine, a human rights magazine based at the Centre for Human Rights in Practice at Warwick University.

polly-trenow Polly Trenow is a campaigner on gender, economics and education. Polly has worked in women’s rights and gender equality since 2005, most recently at the Fawcett Society and as a Clore Social Fellow.

Management Committee Members

Angela O’Hagan is Convenor of the Scottish Women’s Budget Group and has been engaged in the process of securing equality analysis in the Scottish Budget process since its inception in 1999/2000. She is also a member of the European Gender Budgeting Network, aiming to support development exchange of practice in gender budgeting in Europe. Angela is a member of the Scottish Government’s Equality and Budgets Advisory Group (EBAG) and has regularly given evidence to committees of the Scottish Parliament – and elsewhere – on improvements in gender analysis of budget processes. Angela is a Lecturer at Glasgow Caledonian University.

Annelise Johns has a background in Architecture and Urban sociology. Through the WBG, Annelise has been able to combine her interest in feminist economics and experience in housing policy. The policy division of the Women’s Budget Group is relatively new and has created the ideal platform to merge the economic and urban realms. She has been a member of the Management Committee panel for 2 years, and provides housing related input.

Claire Annesley is Professor of Politics at the University of Manchester, specialising in gender politics and policy. She has been a member of the Management Committee of the WBG since 2010.

Diane Elson has been a member of the UK Women’s Budget Group for more than 10 years, and was Chair of the Group until September 2016. She is Emeritus Professor of Sociology at the University of Essex, UK. Diane has published widely on women’s rights and government budgets, and acted as advisor on gender responsive budgeting to the United Nations Development Fund for Women, the United Nations Development Programme, the Commonwealth Secretariat, and the government of Iceland.

Diane Perrons is Professor of Economic Geography and Gender Studies at the London School of Economics. Her research focuses on globalisation, gender and inequality; paid work, care, and social reproduction and regional development and social change. Her current project is concerned with analysing gender dimensions of increasing economic inequality with particular reference to crises, austerity and alternative patterns of socially equitable recovery.

Iman Achara is a consultant with a focus on gender equality.

Jackie Longworth brings to WBG experience of working on women’s equality issues in a voluntary capacity. Her paid career was as an engineer in the electricity industry experiencing gender stereotyping first hand! She joined the Women’s Engineering Society, becoming its President shortly before she retired. She was active in her male dominated engineers’ Trade Union, becoming its President in the mid 1990s. Since retiring she has Chaired the regional women’s equality network Fair Play South West and represented the SW TUC on the now abolished Regional Assembly, which she chaired for two years. Her mission on the WBG management committee is to develop strategy and plans for spreading the “Gender Budgeting” message into regions and localities of England, so that local budget decisions might further women’s equality, rather than widen disparity. In 2015 she received an Honorary Doctorate from University of the West of England for services to women’s equality.

June Douglas

Roxanne Mashari is a Councillor with Brent Council and Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Skills. She has also worked as a parliamentary advisor specialising in gender and equalities.

Scarlet Harris is the TUC’s Women’s Equality Officer. She joined the TUC in 2009 and works on a wide range of policy issues including maternity rights; representation of women in unions; occupational segregation; women in the labour market; equal pay; the gender pay gap; sex discrimination; violence against women; and family policy. As part of the TUC’s ongoing work campaigning against public sector cuts, Scarlet has produced work on the gender impact of the cuts.

Sue Cohen is Chief Executive of the Single Parent Action Network (SPAN). Sue has responsibility for SPAN’s overall strategic development at a national and European level including policy development and managing major partnerships, working on anti-poverty and anti-discrimination strategies. She is also a Research Associate of the School of Law, University of Bristol.

Susan Himmelweit is a British economist, emeritus professor of economics for the Open University in the UK, and was the 2009 president of the International Association for Feminist Economics (IAFFE).

Yvonne Roberts is a journalist with the Observer.